Marriage License

In Monroe County, the Clerk’s Office is the issuing agent of Marriage Licenses for the State of Florida. The Clerk’s Office provides this service at the following locations:


  • Please contact our office for an appointment. Walk-Ins are accepted.
Key West Clerk’s Office

530 Whitehead Street

(corner of Whitehead & Southard, Lester Bldg.)

Key West, FL 33040

305-292-3458

FAX: 305-295-3970

Marathon Clerk’s Office

3117 Overseas Highway

(48 1/2 Mile Marker Ocean Side)

Marathon, FL 33050

305-289-6027

FAX: 305-289-1745

Plantation Key Clerk’s Office

88770 Overseas Highway Ste 2

(88 1/2 Mile Marker Gulf Side)

Plantation Key, FL 33070

305-852-7145

FAX: 305-852-7146

ISSUANCE:

Applicants must be eighteen (18) years old to obtain a marriage license and cannot be related by blood. Please contact our office for information on obtaining a marriage license if you are under the age of 18 or refer to Florida State Statute 741.04 for requirements.

IDENTIFICATION:

Applicants must provide a valid photo-type ID, with date of birth shown (Driver’s License, Passport, Student ID Card, Military ID, or Alien Registration Card). There is no residence or citizenship requirement.

PRIOR MARRIAGES:

If either applicant has been previously married, the exact date of the last death, divorce, or annulment must be provided.

TIME LIMIT AND WAITING PERIOD:

The license must be used within sixty (60) days from the “effective date”.


  • Below are the effective date criteria:
  • If both parties are Florida residents they may both attend a premarital class and present the certification of attendance to the clerk at the time of application. There is no waiting period. If no class is attended, there is a three (3) day waiting period (from the date of issue), before the marriage ceremony may take place. This class must be taken through an authorized provided listed in Monroe County. Original certificate of completion is required at the time of application. List of providers is available upon request.

  • If only one of the applicants is a Florida resident and the Florida resident takes the course, there is no waiting period.

  • If both applicants are out of state residents, there is no waiting period.

SOLEMNIZATION:

A marriage may be performed by an Ordained Clergy, Judiciary, State of Florida Notary, the Clerk of the Circuit Court, and Deputy Clerks.

COST:

The marriage license fee is $86.00. If both applicants are Florida residents and provide proof that they completed a premarital class then the fee is then $61.00.

RECORDING OF LICENSE:

After the marriage, the person who performed the ceremony must return the license, within ten (10) days, to the marriage license section, where it will then be recorded in the Official Records. Until that license is received, there is no valid record of the marriage. After recordation, a certified copy will be returned to the newlyweds, by mail.

  • The process takes approximately 3 weeks.